The Happy Broadcast logo

Numerous countries have banned or restricted wild animals in circuses. Some of them banned also domesticated animals such as horses or dogs, which are also used in circus shows.

There are more than 50 countries that have already taken action against wild animals in circuses or where ban regulations are in the political debate – in Europe and around the world: Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Mexico, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, The Netherlands, Ukraine, and Wales; similar laws are being discussed in a number of other countries.

Source: Federal Circus Bill